My Cart   |   Log In   |   Contact Us

MAG7: Rhapsody No. 1 (by Michael Burritt)

Price: $85.00

Product Information

MAG7: Rhapsody No. 1 was written in the summer of 2017 and dedicated to my seven graduate students (The Magnificent Seven) who so brilliantly brought my new opus to life. The piece opens with a solo “riff” on marimba that serves as the seed for entire work. The rhythmic and metric development play with the quintuplet, first introduced in the opening section, as a tool for polyrhythmic hemiola and metric modulation. This is fully realized in the center of the work as the entire ensemble is playing varying layers in multiples of 5 tethered to a 5/4 meter. Like most of my music, MAG7 is a melting pot of genres and artistic influences coalescing in a pseudo-rhapsodic form.



Click to view full performance by Eastman Percussion Ensemble at PASIC '17 (YouTube)

View Excerpt

Musical Features
Technical Features
Instrumentation2 5.0 marimbas, 2 Vibraphones, 2 Small Concert Toms, 3 Medium Concert Toms 4 Large Concert Toms, Cajon, 2 Caxixi, 3 sets of Crotales, Bongos, 2 Congas, Djembe with stand, 28" Concert Bass Drum, Small Bass Drum, Hi-Hat, Ribbon Crasher, Glockenspiel with pedal, Sizzle Cymbal, Trash China Cymbal, Tam-Tam
Level SuggestionAdvanced